Department of History


The Republic Act No. 1387 was approved in the Philippine Congress on June 18, 1955. This was the bill authored by Senator Ahmad Domocao Alonto, Sr. for the establishment of University of Mindanao (UM) in Dansalan City. However, it was on June 22, 1963 through Republic Act No. 3791 authored by Congressman Haroun Al-Rashid Lucman that the name of the university was amended to its present form, the Mindanao State University (MSU). The university crest displays 1961 because the university was finally founded on September 1, 1961. The university first opened its gates to the first enrollees on June 13, 1962.

The College of Liberal Arts (CLA) was one of the first three colleges in Mindanao State University-Main Campus that was formally organized during the first academic year of the University operation in 1962-1963, the College essentially seeks to instil awareness and critical understanding of the cultural heritage and the history of the Filipinos and peoples of other countries, as well as the current realities in national and global settings. Since 1961, the College has undergone evolutionary change. Then known as the College of Liberal Arts, it initially offered four (4) degree programs, namely: AB English, BS Mathematics, BS Biology, and AB Asian Studies which later the Department of History came from.

In 1972, the College became a multi-department College with twelve (12) degree programs in the natural sciences, social sciences and humanities, and was renamed College of Arts and Sciences (CAS). This led to the creation of the Department of History in which in the present, it became one of the prime department in the said college consisting of more than twenty faculty members and produces graduates who excel in historical research and pedagogy and are flexible, innovative and responsive in contextualizing local, regional, national, and global issues.


The BA History Program offers students who will excel in historical research and pedagogy and are flexible, innovative, and responsive in contextualizing local, national, regional, and global issues.


Public History Development Track

Philippine and Asian History Track

International History Track


  • Dr. Abdullah E. Tirmizy, MAIS, LPT
  • Prof. Zizzle Dawn M. Abecia-Sayson
  • Dr. Adam T. Acmad, LPT
  • Prof. Abubacar A. Ali
  • Prof. Almahdi G. Alonto
  • Prof. Carol R. Antonio
  • Prof. Kimberly F. Apatan-Lusay
  • Dr. Jane Ruby J. Asperin
  • Prof. Jihan S. Bacug
  • Prof. Mojahid C. Baraki, LPT
  • Prof. Sharon O. Bulaclac
  • Prof.Claire J. Dollisen-Miranda
  • Prof. Moira B. Mangorsi, LPT
  • Prof. Minsahle O. Mimbalawag, Sh.L, LPT, JD
  • Prof. Elizabeth A. Miranda
  • Prof. Ardin J. Odoy, LPT
  • Prof. Elmer L. Palahang, JD
  • Prof. Mary Josephine J. Rollorata
  • Dr. Salimah C. Sumaguina
  • Prof. Diamond N. Tawano
  • Prof. Teodora L. Umbac
  • Prof. Raihan A. Yusoph, LPT