High School Department

Office of the Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs [External Unit]

MSU Main Campus - Marawi City > Office of the Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs [External Unit]

About the External Units

Brief History of MSU-External Units

To reach other culturally disadvantaged groups of the Minsupala area such as the Tausugs, Samals, Badjaos and Jama Mapuns of Basilan, Sulu, and Zamboanga, the Maguindanaos of Cotabato, the Subanons of Zamboanga Sibugay, the Manobos of Davao and others, it has been necessary for the University to establish branches at various places. The colleges, high schools and projects of the Mindanao State University outside its main campus and lligan Institute of Technology constitute the External Units as defined in Section 5, Article 55 of the University Code and all under the leadership of the Office of the Vice President for External Studies.

However, after the reorganization and as these colleges deepen their commitment of community service, fiscal autonomy was extended to them with the exception of MSU-Buug College in Zamboanga Sibugay. With this set up, the External Units was re-defined to include only MSU-Buúg College and the fourteen secondary schools established in the provinces of Lanao del Sur, Lanao del Norte and Misamis Occidental. What used to be the Vice President for External Units before the reorganization becomes now the Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs [External Units] and assumes direct supervision over the following schools:

  1. MSU-Marantao High School,Marantao,Lanao del Sur1967,BOR Resolution No.287,27th Meeting
  2. MSU – Saguiaran High School, Saguiaran, Lanao del Sur1967, BOR Resolution No.287,27tm Meeting
  3. MSU – Taraka High School, Taraka, Lanao del Sur1967, BOR Resolution No.287,27th Meeting
  4. MSU-Wao High School,Wao,Lanao del Sur1967,BOR Resolution No.287,27th Meeting
  5. MSU-Siawadatu Agricultural High School, Maguing, Lanao del Sur1973, BOR Resolution No.823,57th Meeting
  6. MSU-Binidayan Vocational High School1976, BOR Resolution No.1030,68th Meeting
  7. MSU – Balindong High School, Balindong, Lanao del sur1978, BOR Resolution No.1526,84th Meeting
  8. MSU-Baloi High School,Baloi,Lanao del Norte 1978,BOR Resolution No.1589, 85th Meeting
  9. MSU-Lopez Jaena High School,Lopez Jaena, Misamis Occidental1978,BOR Resolution No. 1589, 85th Meeting
  10. MSU-Malabang High School,Malabang,Lanao del Sur1978,BOR Resolution No.1589,85th Meeting
  11. MSU-Masiu High School,Masiu,Lanao del Sur 1978,BOR Resolution No.1589,85th Meeting
  12. MSU-Tamparan High School, Tamparan, Lanao del Sur1978, BOR Resolution No.1526,84h Meeting
  13. MSU- Tugaya High School School, Tugaya, Lanao del Sur1978, BOR Resolution No.1526,84th Meeting


In line with the University’s vision to be premier-supra-university in Mindanao-Sulu-Palawan region, the External Units envision academic excellence and the development of well-rounded person.


In pursuing its vision, the External Units propose the following mission statements:

  1. To pursue relevant and responsive basic education;
  2. To prepare the students academically, physically, emotionally and morally to whatever course they may pursue after high school;
  3. To tap the students’ inherent potentials to be able to serve the community and be an asset to the society;
  4. To inculcate the Filipino values such as loyalty, commitment, industriousness, self-reliance, honesty, and love of country; an
  5. To develop a culture of excellence, peace and love of God.

Department Contact Info

Jasmin C. Tawantawan, Lpt, PhD
Special Assistant

3rd floor @ Isidro Hall, 2nd Street,
Mindanao State University
Marawi City, Philippines

+63 9094985124

Mon – Fri 8:00A.M. – 5:00P.M.

Social Info


Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs [External Units]

View More
  • Dr. Samsia M. Paitao-Dumrang

Special Assistants

View More
  • Dr. Sakina U. MindalanoChief Management Staff, Area Supervisor at MSU-Malabang CHS, MSU-Tugaya CHS, Senior High Coordinator, APDP & Permanent Tenure Chairperson
  • Dr. Olomodin M. MocsirArea Supervisor at MSU-Masiu CHS &MSU-Tamparan CHS, & Araling Panlipunan Coordinator
  • Prof. Saliah H.A MasnarOffice Secretary & Area Supervisor at MSU-Baloi CHS & MSU-Saguiran CHS, English Coordinator, & Hiring & Recruitment Secretary, Pre-evaluator of Faculty Credentials for Promotion
  • Mr. Haron Alrashid D. MarohomArea Supervisor at MSU-Wao CHS, ICT, MAPEH & LIS Coordinator, & Disbursing Officer (OAVCAA-External Units)
  • Prof. Norhana H. CanaArea Supervisor at MSU-Taraka CHS & FEASE Chairperson, Filipino Coordinator, Students' Record Evaluator
  • Dr. Jasmin C. Tawantawan-PangilamunArea Supervisor at MSU-Siawadatu CHS and MSU-Balindong CHS , Math Coordinator, Students' Record Verifier (LIS)
  • Mrs. Salwa S. Ampaso-Mackno, Lpt, MSTArea Supervisor at MSU-Marantao CHS & MSU-Lopez Jaena CHS, Science Coordinator
  • Mrs. Aliah M. Pumbaya, Lpt, MSArea Supervisor at MSU-Binidayan CHS, TLE Coordinator, Esp Coordinator, Quality Assurance Coordinator
  • Aleem Abduljalil MangurunArabic Coordinator

The School Principals of different Community High Schools

View More

Administrative Officers

View More
  • Dr. Hejarah U Rande-CarisSUEPS
  • Farrajibah ParamataURAH
  • Raihanee Indol Chairperson, (TER)

Support Staff

View More
  • Raga GuntingMSU-Balindong CHS
  • Ayma Bin Abdul Cader and Omaira UsudanMSU-Baloi CHS
  • Sittie Ryan DitucalanMSU-Binidayan
  • Amalhaya AbdulmalicMSU-Lopez-Jaena CHS
  • Sitty Jaliya Hadji SalicMSU-Malabang
  • Norhaya PandaMSU-Marantao CHS
  • Raihana MagarangMSU-Masiu
  • Naira SacarMSU-Saguiaran CHS
  • Faiz CosainMSU-Siawadatu CHS
  • Annaleah DipatuanMSU-Tamparan CHS
  • Raihana IndolMSU-Taraka CHS
  • Najmah AlnorMSU-Tugaya CHS
  • Alinader PiliMSU-Wao CHS
  • Princess Monoray Mamao
  • Bangcola Alonto
  • Abdulrauf Maunga
  • Aleem Abbas Saumay
  • Yusop Putowas
  • Amanoden Usudan
  • Sadam Abdul

Organizational Chart

  • Junior High School (Grade 7 - 10)
  • Senior High School (Grade 11 to 12)ABM, HUMSS, STEM, & GAS

The Curriculum Offerings

  • Junior High School (Grade 7 - 10)
  • Senior High School (Grade 11 to 12)ABM, HUMSS, STEM, & GAS

General Academic Strand (GAS)

Accountancy and Business Management (ABM)

Humanities and Social Sciences (HUMSS)

Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM)

Featured Post
Accomplished Report

2nd Senior High School Commencement Exercises and 8th Junior High School Moving Up Ceremony of MSU Tugaya Community High School

The MSU – OAVCAA [External Units] headed by AVC Dr. Samsia M. Paitao – Dumrang along with the representatives from the Office of the President, Special Assistants and other selected Support Staff attended the 2nd Senior High School Commencement Exercises and 8th Junior High School Moving Up Ceremony of MSU Tugaya Community High School yesterday on July 7, 2023 in the afternoon.
Our active AVC Dr. Samsia M. Paitao – Dumrang personally confirmed the Senior High School (SHS) graduates and recognized the Junior High School (JHS) completers of MSU Tugaya Community High School.

Alhāmdulillāh and


Completers and Graduates of MSU – Tugaya CHS👏👏👏

Summer Class 2023

Summer Classes will start on July 10, 2023


Posting Soon

Posting Soon.

Posting Soon

Posting Soon.


Elementary and Junior High School Completers regardless of cultural or ethnic background, religious, orientation, and economic status may seek admission at any MSU – External Unit schools.

Admission is granted with the definite understanding that the student and his parents or guardian agree to comply with the rules, regulations and scholastic standards of the school and other requirements as stipulated in the contract of enrollment. The school reserves the right to refuse admission to any student who had been dismissed with cause from other school.

Come & Join Us!