University Mandate

MSU Main Campus - Marawi City > University Mandate

University Mandate


As enshrined in its Charter (RA 1387), MSU was established in  Marawi City on September 1, 1961 to achieve the following objectives:

  • Educate the youth of Mindanao, Sulu and Palawan (MINSUPALA) by offering degree programs in various fields of learning;
  • Support businesses and industries in the region by providing their manpower requirements; and
  • Integrate the Muslims and the other cultural minorities into the mainstream of national life. 

12-Point Reform Agenda

  1. Providing the basic minimum academic needs of all colleges in all campuses;
  2. Sustaining academic excellence strengthening interventions;
  3. Expanding remedial education;
  4. Invigorating research and development;
  5. Strengthening extension and community service;
  6. Contributing significantly to peace building in Mindanao;
  7. Diversifying external linkages;
  8. Improving cost-efficiency and entrepreneurial financial administration;
  9. Pursuing right growth paths and right programs the right way;
  10. Enhancing campus security and protecting MSU lands;
  11. Promoting inter-campus complementation; and
  12. Reinventing the university bureaucracy.